What is the ‘FSPRG.COM’ charge on my credit card statement?

January 25, 2017 - Tech

Find a suspicious looking ‘FSPRG.COM’ charge on your credit card statement recently? Me too.


It turns out that FSPRG.COM is short for a company called FastSpring based in Santa Barbara, CA. And it turns out they’re a legit vendor. I eventually found out that FastSpring provides service to thousands of *other* companies by processing their credit card charges for subscription services, usually for software or similar online products. In other words, though you may not have ordered anything from FastSpring, you likely did from one of their clients and that makes a legitimate charge.

In my case, I paid for a annual subscription to an SEO software company named Ahrefs. It obviously didn’t show up as Ahrefs on my credit card, but as the infamous, capitalized spammy-looking statement code: FSPRG.COM.

It’s not uncommon for me to make large purchases on my business card, so when it first showed up on my card, I couldn’t figure out where it came from. I was about to dispute the charge when I decided to look it up again. I came across this site with an explanation of the company’s services:

FSPRG is FastSpring’s charge code. FastSpring processes subscription services, software or product charges for many companies. If you do not recognize the charge, you may contact FastSpring and they explain the charge to you.


That made me a little more curious. So I did more searching, both on the search engines and the receipts in my email. From FastSprings site:

FastSpring is a trusted reseller of software products and services. We handle all aspects of purchasing and delivery, including licensing and activation. We also take care of all aspects of buyer satisfaction and payment-based customer support.

So why don’t they add come context to their charges? They try to, I think. In my email receipt from Ahrefs, there was this note: “Charges will appear on your bill as: FS *ahrefs.com” Although it didn’t — at least not where I saw it. It could have been truncated – not sure what happened, but all I saw was FastSpring’s charge code FSPRG.COM. So, if you do not recognize the charge, you may contact FastSpring and they’ll explain the charge to you.

A list of FastSpring’s vendors to jog your memory

Here’s a list of some of the companies that FastSpring (FSPRG.COM) helps with their payment processing and charges for software subscriptions and downloadable web products. For a longer, updated list of clients — that may have been the originating charge on your card, go here.

    • Ahrefs
    • Apparent Software
    • BOINX Software
    • Connectify
    • Coventry
    • CryptoSys
    • DaisyDisk
    • Devmate
    • DeepTrawl
    • Espresso
    • Fireshot
    • FirmaSAT


  • Flexibits
  • HDRsoft
  • IntelliAdmin
  • MACPhun
  • PDFpen
  • PDF PRO 10
  • Pixate
  • Poker Copilot
  • RealMac Software
  • SecureMAC
  • Styleworks
  • Text2Go
  • Things for MAC
  • Thoughts
  • Tumult

So if you see FSPRG.COM on your statement, take a little time to think about where this charge may have originated. If you can’t figure out it after some time, then you can contact FastSpring directly at 877 – 327 – 8914 or can quickly question the charge on Fastspring’s webform. They’ll get back to you within a few hours, usually sooner, to provide some description and details as to what you actually bought (or not!) 

Please Don’t Post Sensitive Information

UPDATE: We’ve had several users leave comments on this post about charges they don’t recognize or believe they are opening a ticket for FSPRG customer service or assistance. Here’s a couple examples we’ve received with sensitive info redacted:

I have a charge on visa I do not recognize.  It is for $29.95 with reference number [redacted], Account number [redacted] made on 3/30/17

And this person gave their credit card number!

I have received a charge in my VISA Card No [redacted] for a PC Cleaner of [redacted]. I do need a detailed invoice for this Charges.

Don’t do that! Please do not leave comments looking for FastSpring/FSPRG customer service or posting credit card accounts, reference numbers, or any sensitive personal information! To reach FastSpring about a charge you don’t recognize, call 877 – 327 – 8914 or fill out Fastspring’s webform to question your card charge.

Hope that helped/Good luck!

› tags: charge I don't recognize / COM / CONNECTIFY / Credit Card charge / credit card statement / FastSpring / fraudulent / FSPRG / FSPRG.COM / SMILE /


  1. SERAMONDI says:

    je viens d’avoir 2 prélèvements sur ma carte bleue 47,94 euros et 11,51 euros au nom de FSPRG.COM. Je ne sais pas à quoi ces montants correspondent, pouvez vous me l’expliquez, je pense qu’il n’y a que vous qui avez ce libellé? j’aimerai une réponse rapide parce que j’ai fait opposition sur mon compte et le service juridique de ma banque va me rembourser. Je ne voudrai pas avoir fait une erreur. Merci

  2. John says:

    I have a charge on visa I do not recognize. It is for $29.95 with reference number [redacted], Account number [redacted] made on 3/30/17

  3. Danny says:

    I have received a charge in my VISA Card No [redacted] for a PC Cleaner of [redacted]. I do need a detailed invoice for this Charges.

  4. Gerald says:

    Noticed a charge on my credit card today for $79.99. Can you provide me more information about this charge?

  5. william k says:

    A few days ago i was charged 39.95 and 9.95. I do not recognize these charged and I want my money refunded.

  6. william kesten says:

    I was charged 39.95 and 9.95 a few days agol I dont know this charge and I want it reversed.

  7. Kevin P says:

    I received a charge on my master card. For what ever reason this was done I wanted it canceled.

  8. Mario B. says:

    Received a charge of $19.80 on May 03,2016 and do not know what it is for. Could you please supply details.

  9. Sharon B. says:

    I have a charge on my credit card for $39.95 for pc cleaner that I did not order nor do I want to pay it.Please refund me immediately. It was dated May 26. 2017

  10. Debbie Hughes says:

    Please remove the $19.97 charge on my credit card for PC Cleaner. I did not authorize it.

    Debbie Hughes

  11. PR MANDEL says:


  12. saba says:

    you charged me 9.99 yesterday .i do not recognized these charged .i want my money refund.i want it canceled.

  13. saba says:

    please remove 9.99 charge on my credit card for PC cleaner.i did not authorize it.

  14. Billie Mccarter says:

    I have not ordered any product from you. You have charged my credit card for $ 1.99 each charge.
    Please creit my account or wailill file fraud charges
    on Sept 5th,2017.

  15. Larry F. says:

    So I call this phone # to ” HELP REPAIR MY LAPTOP ” I was on the phone with guy for over an hour and he could not FIX IT!!! So now he is going to get his ” BOSS ” to help him…right !!! Puts me on HOLD and the phone goes DEAD !!!! He hung up on me!!! I WANT MY $39.99 BACK ON MY CARD NOW !!!!!!!!!!!! I`m reporting this to BBB.

  16. Elisabetta says:

    Pls remove 361,79 on my credit card today at 14.23 hs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eXTReMe Tracker